Guided tour of the Sainte-Philothée church in Grammont

  • Guided tour

  • Theme : Photographic Heritage

  • In situ

  • tout-public

  • Free of charges

  • Motor disability

  • Religious building

  • Prevented audiences

  • No reservation required

  • villes-et-pays-dart-et-dhistoire

  • Date

    Guided tour of the Sainte-Philothée church in Grammont

    3 dates, du 19 September 2026 au 20 September 2026

    September

  • Chapelle du domaine de Grammont

    2733 avenue Albert Einstein, 34000 Montpellier, Hérault, Occitanie, France

©Kazarian

## Saint Philotheus Church of Athens The church was renovated in the late 19th century. Professor at the Faculty of Medicine, major surgeon, deputy to the National Assembly in 1871 and rector of the Academy, Etienne Bouisson acquired the domain of Grammont in 1867\. Widowed in 1872, he married the following year Amélie Bertrand, daughter of professor Toussaint Bertrand. Etienne Bouisson-Bertrand died in 1884 at the age of 71\. When Amélie died, most of their fortune, their library and the castle were bequeathed to the Faculty of Medicine. The donation included as a condition the construction of a chapel, which was built in a neo-Gothic style between 1895 and 1897 by the diocesan architect Pierre Arribat. Inside were reburied the spouses Bouisson-Bertrand. On the marble slab of the tomb, in front of the altar, one can read: Domine, apud te fons vitae. In lumine tuo videbimus lumen. Ps. XXXV, V. X. Responsum mortis habuimus, ut non simus fidentes in nobis, sed in Deo qui suscite mortuos. Saint Paul, II Corinth., c. 1, v. IX. Pilates medici exaltabit caput illius et in conspectu magnatorum“To do well, to be esteemed little” [which is Bouisson-Bertrand’s motto]. The Institut Buisson-Bertrand conducted medical research in these premises. A preventorium held by the Daughters of Charity was installed there in 1921. The city of Montpellier has owned it since 1979 and pursued its social vocation with the creation of the Astérix aerated center. ### The stained glass windows of Charles Champigneulle The stained glass windows represent the faces of the main members of the Academy of Medicine of the University of Montpellier by the technique of integrated photo. ### An Orthodox church The chapel was entrusted in 2000 to a French-speaking parish of the Greek Orthodox Church of France. It is dedicated to St. Philothea of Athens. In connection with the Christian Orthodox faith, the arrangements were designed by Georges Xénakis.

Informations

Free. Without reservation. Limited to 50 people.

Chapelle du domaine de Grammont

  • Localisation

    2733 avenue Albert Einstein, 34000 Montpellier, Hérault, Occitanie, France

  • Accès

    Access via the Zénith roundabout, 2733 Albert Einstein Avenue. Parking on the Grammont car parks or at the Théâtre des 13 Vents. The chapel adjoins the castle. Line 52 leads to Grammont from the Place de France

  • Téléphone

    0681904363

  • À propos

    At the sources of the stones The initial chapel was built in 1180 at the same time as all the conventual buildings on the domain of Montubérou offered by Raymond V, count of Toulouse to the order of the Grandmontains. It will be consecrated by Bernard de Mèze, bishop of Maguelone on November 21, 1225\. During the wars of religion, the Priory is partially ruined. The divine service is restored in 1692 but the order collapses. Louis XIV united the priory in 1701 to the seminary of Montpellier and the order is definitively dissolved under Louis XV. Sold as national property in 1790, contractors demolish buildings to recover materials. Sold on January 4, 1791, the estate was bought by the Marquis de Frégeville who built his villa there and kept it until 1821\. Professor at the Faculty of Medicine, major surgeon, deputy to the National Assembly, Etienne Buisson acquired the estate in 1867\. Widowed in 1872, he married the following year Amélie Bertrand. Etienne Buisson-Bertrand died in 1884